What Is Cantonment Board?

A cantonment board is gov administration body that is controlled by the ministry of defense. The board may nominate an elected member as per the containment Act 2006.

The elected member has to serve in the office for around 5 years. The cantonment board consists of eight selected members three nominated military members and three ex-officio members like station commanders and senior executive medical officers and the one which will represent the district magistrate.

In terms of total cantonment boards in India… Is divided into four categories which are according to the population of the place.

  • Category 1 consists of the population which will exceed around 50,000.
  • Category 2 consists of the population which will exceeds 10000 but keeps under the limitation of 50,000.
  • Category 3 consists of a population exceeds 2500 people and keeps under 10,000.
  • Category 4 consists of the population that does not exceeds 2500.

Duties of the Cantonment Boards

The Cantonment Board takes care and looks at the duties like public health, water supply for the people their sanitization, children’s education improper road and Street infrastructure.

These resources are owned by the government of India so it cannot levy any taxes now the financial support is provided by the government of India.

All these works are taken control of by the president of that contentment board. Sometimes work can be prevented by some reasonable cause, but the president is also to control and supervise the financial regions of the board.

President also locates any restrictions limitations and laws which are imposed by the Cantonment act. You can also take an action on the misconduct during the course of the meeting and he can also suspend a member than CEO from attending the UN conduct part of the board.

How Many Cantonment Boards Are There:

  • Himachal Pradesh
    1. Bakloh (near Chamba)
    2. Dagshai (near Solan)
    3. Dalhousie
    4. Jutogh (near Shimla)
    5. Kasauli
    6. Sabathu (near Solan)
    7. Yol (near Dharamshala)
  • Odisha
    1. Gopalpur
  • Kerala
    1. Kannur
  • Telangana
    1. Secunderabad
  • Bihar
    1. Danapur
  • Jharkhand
    1. Ramgarh
  • Meghalaya
    1. Shillong
  • Karnataka
    1. Belgaum
  • Tamil Nadu
    1. St.Thomas Mount-cum-Pallavaram, Chennai
    2. Wellington
  • Jammu and Kashmir
    1. Badami Bagh (near Srinagar)
    2. Jammu
  • North-West
    1. Delhi
    2. Ambala
    3. Amritsar
    4. Firozpur
    5. Jalandhar
    6. Ajmer
    7. Nasirabad (near Ajmer)
    8. Jaipur
  • Uttarakhand
    1. Almora
    2. Chakrata
    3. Clement Town (near Dehradun)
    4. Dehradun
    5. Landour (near Mussoorie)
    6. Lansdowne
    7. Nainital
    8. Ranikhet
    9. Roorkee
  • Madhya Pradesh
    1. Jabalpur
    2. Mhow
    3. Morar
    4. Pachmarhi
    5. Sagar
  • Uttar Pradesh
    1. Agra
    2. Allahabad
    3. Babina (near Jhansi)
    4. Bareilly
    5. Jhansi
    6. Kanpur
    7. Lucknow
    8. Faizabad
    9. Fatehgarh
    10. Mathura
    11. Meerut
    12. Shahjahanpur
    13. Varanasi
  • Gujarat
    1. Ahmedabad
  • Maharashtra
    1. Ahmednagar
    2. Aurangabad
    3. Dehu Road, Pune
    4. Deolali, Nashik
    5. Kamptee, Nagpur
    6. Khadki, Pune
    7. Camp, Pune


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *